biFACTOR

Icon

breakdown of the middle ground.

The list-goes-on-and-on and on

There are lots of list floating around in cyber-land of past and present famous bisexual, mine is not that different, except that I’m highlighting the ones I find to be most interesting, like the writers and singers.

Angelina Jolie, Madonna, Drew Barrymore, Drea de Matteo, David Bowie, Ani Difranco, Margaret Cho, Tila Tequila and more recently Lindsay Lohan–love you all! But you’re old news to me…

Hans Christian Andersen: 1805 – 1875 The Danish writer famous for his fairy tales was seemingly bisexual by all accounts made from modern biographers. He was one of those bisexuals that avoided actual sex. (They do exist!).

Amy Bloom: 1953—writer. Okay so she’s been out and proud for a long time now, but I honestly never knew. I see her books at the bookstore all the time, but you can’t judge an author by their book cover.

William S. Burroughs: 1914-1997 Mr. Burroughs was many things, a drug addict, a gun crazed man who accidentally shot his wife, and ding ding ding! A bisexual.

John Cheever: 1912-1982 This actually shouldn’t have been a surprise to me because several of his books have sexual orientation undertones that reflected his real life coming to grips.

Bret Easton Ellis: 1962— Author of American Psycho and many other popular novels made into movies. Not every bi or homosexual writes gay themed works. But they do write “fabulously” if I do say so myself!

Michael Chabon – author (out, W see Mysteries of Pittsburgh page, NY Review of Books Vol 52, #10, 6/9/2005, wroteMysteries of Pittsburgh, Wonder Boys, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay)

Rounding out the list of writers we also have: Virginia Woolf: 1882-1941, Emily Dickinson: 1830 – 1886, Margaret Mead: 1901 – 1978, and Oscar Wilde.

Kurt Cobain: 1967-1994 Did you know this? I had NO clue about Courtney Love’s (rest in peace) ex’s bed sheet tendencies. The singer/songwriter of Nirvana (out, “…I’m definitely gay in spirit and I probably could be bisexual…[I]f I wouldn’t have found Courtney, I probably would have carried on with a bisexual lifestyle.” Advocate, Feb 1992, “What else could I say, Everyone is gay” lyrics All Apologies .)

Pete Wentz 1979 –Musician (Fall Out Boy). Came out in the The Advocate (May 2007) With all the make up he wears is anyone OMG-shocked? Didn’t think so.

Billie Joe Armstrong – lead singer, guitarist and songwriter for Green Day (out, Advocate Jan 24, 1995)

Female singers Billie Holiday: 1915 – 1959, Janis Joplin: 1943 – 1970, Pink: 1979 –I have wondered about this singer for a while now, and if its true, that super cool because she’s super cool; and Christina Aguilera – singer (quoted Advocate March 16, 2004 p.10 & “I find it hornier looking at women than men. Sorry, I love experimenting with my sexuality. If that means with girls, so be it.” Zoo, Jan 2004) have all been cited as having been at least bi-curious or having bi-tendencies…which is enlightening none the less.

Big thanks to: http://bialogue.livejournal.com/tag/famous+bisexuals+in+history

And http://www.glbtq.com/

Filed under: bi-sexual, Maddie Banks

Leave a Reply

follow biFACTOR topics on twitter

