biFACTOR

Icon

breakdown of the middle ground.

Sticks and stones may break my bones…

But it’s the words that really hurt me.

“When I was 14, I took a razorblade to my left arm and carved a “V.” It stood for victim, because that’s what I was. I was a victim of my mother’s rage, of the sickness that still plagues her mind to this day. To this day I can’t tell you exactly why I did it. I was hurting and in pain, and maybe I wanted to focus on the blood running down of my arm instead of her hateful words for just a few moments. I might have done it to show her just how much she had wounded me, to mutilate my arm as she had done my soul.”

This is the startling intro to the article “How Did I Ever Survive?” A woman’s recount of what it was like Growing Up with a Bipolar, Schizophrenic Mother.

This is what the disease can feel like.

This youtube video entitled, May 20, 2008, 1137am Phone message from my bipolar mother.

This what a bipolar episode can sound like.

Of the almost six million American adults living with bipolar disorder, many people, and the ones around them, don’t know the symptoms. It looks different for everyone.
(Please continue after the jump)

Pages: 1 2

Filed under: bi-polar, Eliza Barnett, , , , ,

Leave a Reply

follow biFACTOR topics on twitter

