biFACTOR

Icon

breakdown of the middle ground.

How to raise ’em. Addressing those “special needs”

Interestingly enough I started with the idea for this post to discuss whether or not there is a quote unquote “best place to raise a biracial child” and I was lead in another direction to that of adoption.

Honestly when my views on adoption have been as such: I love it. I think it’s great. I think more people should adopt. I probably will adopt a child myself. I’ve never had any friends that were adopted, so I’ve always been curious why adoptees tend to have this desire to find their birth parents.

I get the issue of health background, but I’ve kind of always thought well, those people didn’t raise you, what’s the point of knowing them? So not shockingly I’ve been a supporter of closed adoptions, and restricted information until they’re 18 arrangements. And whereas I think it’s great that people adopt those not of the same race as them, in the back of my mind I kinda though well why doesn’t everyone adopt a kid that looks kind of like them, so they can delay the whole, I’m not your birth parent conversation as long as possible.

Remember though I’ve held these opinions as someone who doesn’t know any adoptees, and if I did I’m sure my previous thoughts on the subject would vary.

So I started reading up on transracial adoptions.  The formal definition of it refers to the adoption a child who’s racial or ethnicity varies from that of their adoptive parents. More commonly it refers to the adoption of biracial or black children by white adoptive families.

It should be noted that in pretty much all the literature I found on the topic, the term biracial was only used to describe someone of a white and black background—which technically isn’t the correct usage of the word, but when people think biracial that’s probably what they’re always going to think first.

Just a note: many professionals in adoptive fields consider black and biracial children who need parents as those with special needs. There’s a lot of discussion out there because people tend to jump to the conclusion to take special needs as being negative and a handicap. When in reality, they do require special attention in “other” ways.

Pages: 1 2

Filed under: bi-racial, Maggie Barnes

One Response

Leave a Reply

follow biFACTOR topics on twitter

